Egg white frittata

20 Jun

I eat 6 egg whites for breakfast every day….every damn day!

20130620-124202.jpg

I have never been a really big fan of eggs. The breakfast food I gravitate towards is typically sweet, and fatty (like pancakes and bacon). Anyway, on my new meal plan sweet and fatty is out and high protein is in – hey, these things are generally bad for you in high quantities anyway so I’m not complaining too much. Yea…so the breakfast scene is me in the morning after cardio scrambling up egg whites…every damn day. You can see how this could get boring…and boring is not really a sustainable thing on a diet.

Before I started my meal plan I tweeted about how I was not too thrilled about having to eat this many egg whites every morning. A twitter follower replied with the suggestion that I make meringues. While I haven’t made any meringues yet (but I am actively looking for a sugar, fat free recipe) I did take this person’s advice and look into ways to spice up the egg white sittuation.

Enter today’s frittata. It’s actually the first frittata I’ve ever made and I’m not a chef (so take that into account when following my recipe or instructions).

What you’ll need:
Small pan ( I used my one serving cast iron skillet)
Non stick low calorie cooking spray
Spatula
6 egg whites ( or equivalent amount of liquid egg white substitute)
30grams of onion
1 clove of garlic
Garlic-herb mrs dash (about 2 shakes)
4oz of cooked and drained ground turkey meat
1tsp of ground fennel seed (or more or less for taste)
1 pinch of salt (more or less for taste)
45 grams of frozen asparagus cuts (thawed – can use any other veggie)

Cooking instructions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
1- spray your small pan with non stick cooking spray. If your cast iron pan is well seasoned you may be able too skip this step.

2- sauté onion, garlic, asparagus over medium heat until onions are translucent.

3- add ground turkey and sauté until heated through. Reduce to low heat.

4- crack eggs and isolate the whites (toss the yolks or save them for another purpose).

5- gently whisk egg whites with seasonings (salt, fennel seed, mrs dash) until it begins to froth and add whisked mixture to cast iron skillet on top of other ingredients

6- stir mix once on low heat and cook for about 2-3 minutes on stove top until sides start to set ( do not continue to stir or you will have scrambled egg whites)

7- when sides have set, place skillet in oven and bake for 5-7 minutes until top is set.

8- when the top is set (no longer liquid) remove the frittata from the oven and allow it to cool on the I stove top away from direct heat for about 5 minutes then remove it from the pan and eat!

The frittata should have a fluffy texture (similar to an omelette) and should have some crunchy crusty bits on the underside and sides.

If you follow the recipe I’ve written out recipe the macronutrient breakdown is approximately:

Carbs: 7 grams
Protein: 44 grams
Fats: 8 grams
Calories: 294 cal

The awesome thing about a frittata is that you can add whatever ingredients you want. For example frittatas often have cheese, various veggies, tomatoes, sausages, or bacon. I kept my frittata low fat and low carb by limiting the additions to a lean meat and veggies. You can do whatever you wish that fits your tastes and your nutrition goals.

I’d love to hear how you are spicing up your egg white breakfasts, or if you have a recipe for a low carb meringues.

Enjoy!

20130620-123921.jpg

One Response to “Egg white frittata”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Week 2 on training program – unrealistic expectations and frustration | OCD Runner - June 24, 2013

    […] Enter week 2. I start my period and I’m a moody emotional mess with a face full of acne that wants to sit in bed and eat pork rinds while watching repeats of The Real Housewives. Paradoxically, i also want to look like the women in my #fitspo images on Instagram. Despite the fact that last week I lost over 7 lbs, I started this week frustrated that the weight wasn’t coming off faster. Its a damn shame how hormones, emotional eating and self deprecation are so powerful in some women (like me). Resisting the urge to binge eat to calm my nerves, anxiety, anger, or sadness this week has been the HARDEST part of this fitness/healthy eating journey so far and I know it will probably only get harder as time goes on. Here, on day 14 writing this, I’m proud to say that with the exception of a tablespoon of natural peanut butter on Tuesday, I stuck to my macros and calorie limits. (Side bar, that little bit of peanut butter on Tuesday really helped with a gross little side effect of the sudden increase in protein – sluggish bowels…TMI? Sorry). I mentioned in my last update that I eat an ungodly amount of egg whites. I’m experimenting with ways to make them more appetizing and exciting and will occasionally post recipes (with macronutrient/calorie) breakdown if they end up tasting good. This week for example I made an egg white frittata which was DEVINE! […]

Leave a comment